Introduction

The Badwe’e people are the descendants of Edwe’e, who was the son of Kɔɔ and his wife Ampi’i. Kɔɔ was the son of Nzime. The older brothers of Edwe’e were Njeme, the first-born, and Nzime, who was named after his grandfather. The descendants of the three brothers are known in the Badwe’e dialect by the phrase “dyɛɛ mo Kɔɔ, mwan mo Zime”: “the clan of Kɔɔ, son of Zime”, which is abbreviated as “Kɔɔ-Zime”. (In the Nzime dialect this is “Kɔɔ-Nzime”.)

The language of the Badwe’e is referred to either as “kɔɔzime” or “badwe’e”, the language of the Nzime is known either as “kɔɔnzime” or simply “nzime”. In The Ethnologue, they are classified together in the region “#234” of the map. (See map below.)

The Badwe’e inhabit the areas of Messamena, Somalomo and Mindourou in southeastern Cameroon, while the Nzime are in the areas of Lomié and Messok.

Even with a population of 55,000, the Badwe’e barely occupy more than three persons per square kilometer due to the vastness of the region. This demographic challenge does not permit them maximum development. Another factor that hinders development is that the land is infertile due to being mostly composed of clay.

The Badwe’e live in small hamlets isolated from one another along the roads, which are not well-traveled, and are sometimes cut off. This gives the Badwe’e the reputation of being remote. They have found a way, however, to make the most of this situation. Being far from towns and the inability to participate in market life, they cultivate all that they need, living on the resources available to them. They harvest cocoa in order to have the means to pay taxes, and buy school books, and personal products such as sugar, soap, kerosene, clothes and roofing tin.

Their hamlets consist of the members of the same clan, with the exception of the wives that come from other villages. The number of family units per hamlet are less than twenty. The houses face the road on both sides. Each house consists of two medium-sized rooms: a kitchen and a bedroom. The women and children spend most of their time in the kitchen. An exceptionally big village might be a kilometer long, in which you might find the kitchens located behind the sleeping houses, which face the road.

The forest is quite vast for the needs of the populations, so the land is not under demand or a cause for rivalry. They have no need to set up property ownership of cropland. This is further explained by the fact that cultivable land is only useful for two years in a row, then left for at least ten years for the soil and plants to revive. After that time, there is a great amount of work to clear the land for cultivating again.

Introduction

Les Badwe’e sont les descendants de Edwe’e, qui était le fils de Kɔɔ et d’Ampi’i. Kɔɔ était le fils de Zime. Les frères ainés d’Edwe’e s’appelaient Njeme, le premier-né, et Nzime, qui portait le nom de son grand-père. Les descendants des trois frères étaient aussi connus sous le terme «dyɛɛ mo Kɔɔ, mwan mo Zime»: «le clan de Kɔɔ, fils de Zime», en abrégé, «Kɔɔ-Zime». (Au dialecte Nzime, c’est «Kɔɔ-Nzime»).

Le parler des Badwe’e est connu sous les termes «kɔɔzime» où bien «badwe’e», alors que le parler des Nzime est «kɔɔnzime» ou simplement «nzime».

Les Badwe’e se trouvent dans le sud-est de Cameroun dans les unités administratives de Messamena, Somalomo et Mindourou, alors que les Nzime se trouvent dans les unités administratives de Lomié et Messok.

Les Badwe’e habitent en forêt dense dans cette région du Cameroun. Population de 55.000 personnes, leur densité nʼatteint que trois habitants au kilomètre carré. Cela ne leur permet pas un développement maximal de leur milieu. De plus, les terres sont argileuses et peu fertiles.

Ils vivent en petits hameaux, isolés les uns des autres, le long des pistes. Il y a peu de circulation sur ces pistes, périodiquement coupées. De ce fait, les Badwe’e ont la réputation dʼêtre « enclavés ». Ils tirent pourtant le maximum de cette situation contraignante. Nʼayant pas la possibilité de participer aux marchés des villes, ils se contentent de vivre de leurs propres ressources, chacun se chargeant de cultiver ce dont il a besoin pour son foyer. Ils exploitent le cacao pour pouvoir payer les impôts, les livres scolaires et les produits de première nécessité comme le sucre, le savon, le pétrole, les habits et les tôles.

Les petits hameaux sont composés en majorité par les membres dʼun même clan (à lʼexception des femmes qui viennent des autres villages). Le nombre de foyers dans un hameau de taille moyenne ne dépasse pas la vingtaine. Les maisons sont rangées des deux côtés de la route avec les cours ouvrant sur la route. La maison-type comporte deux cases de taille moyenne : lʼune pour les chambres à coucher et lʼautre, à côté, pour la cuisine. La case servant de cuisine est de dimensions réduites par rapport à lʼautre, mais cʼest là que la femme et les enfants passent la plus grande partie de la journée. Quelquefois on trouve de rares villages dʼun kilomètre ou plus de long. Dans ceux-ci on peut trouver les cuisines rangées derrière les maisons.

La forêt étant très vaste par rapport aux besoins de la population, il nʼest pas question de contester le terrain. Il nʼest pas question non plus dʼétablir un droit de propriété sur les terrains cultivés. Ce manque dʼattachement à un terrain donné sʼexplique par le fait que les terres ne supportent pas dʼêtre cultivées pendant plus de deux années consécutives. Il faut ensuite les laisser en jachère pendant dix ans ou plus afin que les arbres y repoussent et grandissent. Pendant ce temps, le paysan abat les arbres ailleurs et y cultive son champ, ce qui représente pour lui un travail considérable.